Allan Mayer’s Weblog

Tweaking the dream

Posted on: August 27, 2009

A Crystal Meth True Story.

I have often wondered over the past few months if any of the 400+ books published by YouWriteOn so far would break away from the pack and achieve high sales and sustained Amazon rankings.

This week, I heard that ‘Tweaking the Dream’ by Clea Myers was starting to do exactly that. Since the book was featured in The Sun newspaper it has maintained a consistent position within the top 10,000 books on Amazon.uk. When I researched the Amazon rankings earlier this year I discovered that a book that could do that would be considered a success by any small publisher.

My first reaction upon hearing about Clea Myers’ success was that it was a cause for celebration for all of us in the YouWriteOn stable. Having said this, any celebration of  ‘Tweaking the Dream’ as a triumph for POD publishing must come second to a far more important triumph: this book is getting the truth out there about the evils of Crystal Meth. It is Clea Myers’ own story about her descent into Hell through her use of the drug, and if any of the YWO books go on to greater things it would be good to know that it is one with such an important message.

You can read the Sun interview here:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/features/2583142/Crystal-meth-is-the-devils-poison.html?OTC-RSS&ATTR=Features

Visit Clea’s website here: http://cleamyers.com/

3 Responses to "Tweaking the dream"

Thanks Allan!
I am grateful to YWO for helping
me get out there my appalling
experience with the drug, crystal
meth. Conventional publishers didn’t
believe there was any mileage in
yet another addiction memoir, aka
misery memoir. I am happy to have
proven otherwise. All I hope now is that
UK youth heed the warning…

Hi I hear that my wife is a good friend of Clea Myers and this is my blog that she is reading above so please read it and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

My Latest Twitterings

