Allan Mayer’s Weblog

Guardian Features Tasting the Wind

Posted on: March 13, 2009

 

 Well, it’s actually the Chorley Guardian, but I’ve been working on creating eye-catching headlines.

The best thing about this is that the picture used in this press release was taken by my 13 year old foster-son, and I’m really proud that he has had a photo published in a newspaper. I went to his school yesterday, and they had been looking at my page on Amazon- I’m thinking of employing him as my marketing manager.

 

 

 

scan00043

 For some reason I’m having a problem making the scan legible, so here is the text:

 

 A Chorley author whose first novel  had still not appeared two months after the promised launch date is now celebrating.

When his book Tasting the Wind failed to appear at Christmas, Allan Mayer, 48, contacted his publisher YouWriteOn to find that difficulties with reproducing the book’s cover were jeopardising its publication.

 

‘I was really disappointed,’ said Allan, ‘as my wife and I had designed the cover ourselves. I was offered another one, but I wasn’t very impressed with it. It was also starting to get embarrassing, as people who had seen the Guardian article in December had started to go into W.H. Smiths only to be told that the book wasn’t on their system.’

 

In the meantime Allan, who is a manager for Brothers of Charity Services, began to submit articles to an online ‘collaborative fiction’ experiment called Greyling Bay.

‘I wasn’t too optimistic about getting my work accepted there,’ said the writer. ‘Many of the contributors are well established novelists with a string of published works.’

 

But in an upturn of fortunes, Allan received an e-mail saying that his work had been accepted- the same week that he found that Tasting the Wind had surfaced on the Amazon book selling site. And thanks to the painstaking work of YouWriteOn director, Edward Smith, the book now displays the original cover.

 

Tasting the Wind is  available on Amazon.co.uk, and can be ordered from W.H. Smiths and Waterstone’s bookshops. 50% of the author’s royalties will be donated to Derian House Children’s Hospice.

 

For further details please visit  www.allanmayer.com

 

When writing a press release it is advisable to keep away from the subject of your book altogether. Talk about yourself, the troubles you have had in trying to get your work published. That way you will have more of a chance of getting press coverage- it’s how newspapers work.

This is the previous press release:

scan00021

Does it Work?

Well, since my latest press release appeared my rankings on Amazon have shot up from 125,000 to 16,000, so thanks very much to readers of the Chorley Guardian- please let me know what you think, and if you see me round town say hello.

Leave a Reply

My Latest Twitterings

