Allan Mayer’s Weblog

I’m very big down under…

Posted on: February 25, 2009

Well, I am hoping that I might be one day… because I’ve had a couple of people enquiring if Tasting the Wind is available in Australia.

Cate Thompson from Brisbane left a message on my Website guest book, and I also got a message from Jo Watson in my blog comments.

As yet there is no Australian Amazon. I managed to find an Australian supplier, but it would have cost more than double the Amazon price.

I was beginning to think that my Antipodean marketing campaign was never going to get off  the ground when in stepped my Canadian friend, Wally, with information that you can get Tasting the Wind Shipped free wherever you are from: the Book Depository .

So that’s a Canadian, helping an Australian to buy a book by an English author. Isn’t the internet a wonderful thing!

I realised from Jo’s address that she worked for Scope . We have corresponded and it turns out that she is a speech pathologist (Over here we’re more familiar with the term speech therapist.)

She also said:

I can’t wait to get my copy in the mail.  I will review it and submit it to some of our publications here in Australia. I think AGOSCI would be a good one.  It is our national publication for people interested in the needs of people who don’t use speech to communicate.   

It is very gratifying to think that someone I have never met will be spreading the word about Tasting the Wind on the other side of the world.

Thanks Jo!

4 Responses to "I’m very big down under…"

Great stuff following your blog Allan. The header looks a treat for advertising your book, now only if I could copy that for my blog!

Good to hear that your blog has a following from all over the world.

Facsinating too the Amazon ratings.

Reading about your marketing methods and learning a lot.

My blog needs to get out there.

Hi Glascot,
thanks. The header is easy enough to do- it’s a blog post with the box ticked to ‘make it sticky’ or ‘stick to the front page’ so that it always appears at the top. Yes get blogging- you have a real story to tell- there are lots of really interesting posts just waiting to be written about the themes of your book, your life, your experiences of publishing with YWO (!) and the brilliant response you have received locally. Put pictures on it, ping it. and leave links to it on forums. It will soon grow. Be warned- it can be come addictive, thinking of more ways to up your hits. But it’s fun, and you meet the loveliest people!

I love your site!

_____________________
Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Thanks Tim. I’m in need of some positive affirmation at the moment, and if you read my blog post of 28th of February you will understand why. As you have left this comment on three of my posts I am suspecting that you are trying to sell something, to whit a computer clean up service. That’s fine – we’re all trying to sell something. Mine is a book. So good luck with your business, but if you really do like my site then get back in touch and, who knows, I might buy your services… if you buy my book.

Leave a Reply

My Latest Twitterings

