Allan Mayer’s Weblog

A Miscellany

Posted on: February 11, 2009

My week so far…

Saturday…

 Went to see ‘Mary Poppins’ at the Palace Theatre in Manchester. Although we took our foster child with us it was actually a late fortieth birthday present for my brother-in-law, who is now at that age and secure enough in his sexuality to feel able to ask for whatever he wants.

Karen, my sister-in-law is due to have a baby in May, and I couldn’t help wondering how live musical theatre is perceived in the womb. According to Karen the baby has already mastered ‘Riverdance.’

The show was brilliantly executed, the climax being where Mary flies right over the stalls and up into the gods.

Sunday…

Went to see some newly acquired friends who we met through the fostering network. The kids played, the women talked about the kids and the men compared the sizes of their sub-woofers.

Monday…

Got the promised e-mail from Ted Smith, saying that the book matches the cover at Lightning Source, so there is a problem at Amazon which should sort out within a couple of weeks.

Although I don’t want to steam ahead with marketing until the correct cover is appearing and I have a copy in my hand, I have started to ‘dabble’ a little. I have registered for the Amazon ‘Search Inside’ facility. I’ve also signed up for ‘Author’s Den.’  This is a site which showcases new novels. It has had mixed reviews, but the good ones are very very good.

And I’ve contacted a site which is keeping alive the tradition of the Staffordshire oatcake. I was born in Kidsgrove, Stoke-on-Trent, where the oatcake is a local delicacy. The Kidsgrove oatcake shop features in the first chapter of ‘Tasting the Wind’ so I wondered if the current owners of the shop would be interested in knowing about this. Who knows- it could lead to a joint marketing venture: a free bag of oatcakes with every copy bought? (or a free book with every bag of oatcakes…)

Monday- Wednesday…

The day job. It’s Winter, which means viruses, which means short staffing. When this happens I stand in and do ‘hands-on.’ I manage a service for people with profound disabilities, so today I accompanied a lovely lady to ‘Wheelchair aerobics’ at the local leisure centre.

Wednesday…

Things have started to get nasty on the Absolute Write/ YouWriteOn thread. Which is sad. Several posts have been deleted.

Which brings me to tonight…

Dropped our foster son off at scouts. He’s had a great day. I can’t name him or say much about him because of confidentiality, but today we have been very proud of him. Before he came we made up a name when we tried to imagine how our lives would change with a child around, so from now on I will call him ‘Duane.’ Today we were proud of Duane because he did a sponsored swim to raise money for his school. He told us he thought he could do 3-4 lengths, so we sponsored him for £1.00 per length.

He did twenty six lengths… perhaps I should recruit him to sell my book.

4 Responses to "A Miscellany"

Congrats to Duane. 26 lengths is fantastic, my arms ache after 20 VERY SLOW lengths.

The Staffordshire oatcake ‘takes the biscuit’, if you know what I mean.Great marketing idea!

By their oatcakes shall ye know them… even without the ‘Glascot’ I could guess where you are from- the Scottish Oatcake is a biscuit whereas the Staffordshire oatcake is somewhere between a pancake and a chappati. Traditionally it is covered in cheese, grilled and rolled up before consumption.
You can’t do this with the thicker Derbyshire version, which is fried in the breakfast pan and served alongside your bacon and eggs etc. My wife is from Derbyshire, so we have an ongoing feud about which oatcake came first. Obviously it was the Staffordshire.
Thanks Leela- I’ve linked to your website- now get blogging and tell the world about what your local council is doing to promote ‘Twice Born.’

Interesting image of the Stafordshire oatcake as between pancake/ chappati! Yes Scottish oatcake is a biscuit and delicious with cheese and a wee dram too. Thanks for the website. My blog is http://www.leelasoma.blogspot.com. More easy to access if people just want the blog.

Any news on your book yet?

Hi Allan;

Looks like you had a great week. Good to note that you are “steaming ahead” with your book marketing. Here’s a good site to get some more ideas on selling our books:

http://promotebooks.blogspot.com/

I was most impressed by the story of a person who sold 2000 copies his self-published book at the JFK Convention in Dallas!!!

Best wishes to y’all (Duane included)

WallyR

Leave a Reply

My Latest Twitterings

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

