Allan Mayer’s Weblog

The Weblog Virtual Christmas party

Posted on: December 11, 2008

 

Me having a party

Hang on… guests are arriving (scroll down past the bunnies…)

OK- one of the ideas behind this weblog is that it is a repository of  book marketing ideas (No not suppository, although some of you may see it that way.)

Me having a party

So…

What I propose to do is host a Book Launch/Christmas party on this site. My blog stats have soared recently, and a lot of you have left comments- but not all of you… so I’m asking you to come to my virtual party- but don’t come empty handed.

Although this is particularly aimed at YWO writers who have been published, and those who are getting fed up of waiting, anyone can join in.

 

So how do you join in?

Add the following to my comments box:

Some of you may just have published a book, so here is your invitation to tell us about it and  launch it here…

some of you haven’t been published yet, so drown your sorrows and whinge here…

You might want to tell a joke (not necessarily clean but non-racist non sexist please)

There will be a karaoke- so tell me what your favourite music is.

 

There will be party pieces- I imagine you are quite a literary lot, so I want to see Christmas greetings written in the style of your favourite author!

We will need food and drink- so what party food should we have, and what is your favourite tipple? (recipes and cocktail ideas welcome- and hangover cures.)  So it’s up to you- send me in your Virtual Christmas party ideas, and I will publish them… at least somebody around here will be getting published.

Bunnies opening Christmas presents                         

                                       Bunnies opening Christmas presents

The first guest’s here- it’s Joanna Studdert-Kennedy ( http://joannalsk.webs.com )
Well hello! I’m all up for a party, what with waiting for my little book to be ready…sob! OK, while we crack open the wine – I’ve brought Chardonnay by the way – I’ll tell you a bit about the book, in a few words.

Er…well, it’s called The Cinderella Syndrome and is a spoof fairytale about Cinderella’s daughter and a dastardly newspaper editor who wants to give her a makeover to increase his profit margin. (Well, I did say it was daft) Dollops of , a pinch of Maid Marian and her Merry Men and a soupcon of Roald Dahl….or something.

There we go. Right, I’m off to knock one bag and will join you all for a boogie on the dancefloor! By the way, I’ve come dressed as Hermione Granger, so look out for the brunette in school robes. Merry Christmas!

Cheers Joanna- loved the very appropriate look of your wesite, and the names of your characters made me smile. And as for the costume…

 

1 Response to "The Weblog Virtual Christmas party"

Well hello! I’m all up for a party, what with waiting for my little book to be ready…sob! OK, while we crack open the wine – I’ve brought Chardonnay by the way – I’ll tell you a bit about the book, in a few words.

Er…well, it’s called The Cinderella Syndrome and is a spoof fairytale about Cinderella’s daughter and a dastardly newspaper editor who wants to give her a makeover to increase his profit margin. (Well, I did say it was daft) Dollops of Blackadder, a pinch of Maid Marian and her Merry Men and a soupcon of Roahld Dahl….or something.

There we go. Right, I’m off to knock one bag nd will join you all for a boogie on the dancefloor! By the way, I’ve come dressed as Hermione Granger, so look out for the brunette in school robes. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

My Latest Twitterings

