Allan Mayer’s Weblog

The Last Word

Posted on: November 6, 2008

 Got this today from Timmy A:

 

Hi – I’m here from the YWO message-board, so that tells you all you need to know on where I stand, I suppose. Just one observation, having read the criticism of the scheme: most seems to come from industry insiders. I think there’s a bit of panic out there. After all, there’s no great mystery in publishing; they get it wrong as often as they get it right. And as for publicity, look at Shadowmancer, or Waterlog – both word-of-mouth bestsellers. The rules are changing, and the YWO initiative has certainly ruffled feathers.

This will be my last word on the YouWriteOn debate. It can all be summed up in one sentence:

‘Some of us think it’s a good idea, some of us don’t.’

After this post I will be concentrating on how we get our books out there. This will include contributions from friends and contacts who have self- published or published through small companies and had to do their own marketing.

I will also be throwing in a few of these…

Cuddly Bunnies

Cuddly Bunnies

…for when we start taking ourselves too seriously and forget that writing is supposed to be a fun thing…

Take care,

Allan.

3 Responses to "The Last Word"

Good info on the controversy Allan.Ta.

Any good sites on book promotion for our YWO books? Iread somewhere that flyers and approaching local bookstores would be a good idea. I did not design my own cover so that might be a problem.

I don’t think that people like me are panicking: it’s more a case of not wanting to watch people throw their work away. But still.

So far, the contract doesn’t make it easy for you to get your books into bookshops, so you’re going to have to work on other ways to sell them. But I’ll post more on Allan’s latest thread, in an attempt to keep it all together.

“…for when we start taking ourselves too seriously and forget that writing is supposed to be a fun thing…”

Well said. Here’s to throwing it all away in style 🙂

Leave a Reply

My Latest Twitterings

